Where the sales come from

61,346 published sales from 12 auction houses and eBay, and the reference books we quote. Each source says what its prices mean, how far back it goes, and how many of its sales we hold.

Salerooms and eBay

eBay25,473 sales Online marketplace · 2025–2026 · 7,023 products The price the item sold for on eBay, as sold (no premium). Leitz Photographica Auction10,541 sales Auction house · Austria · 2002–2026 · 2,449 products Hammer price: what the lot sold for, without the buyer’s premium. Flints Auctions9,881 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 2017–2026 · 2,912 products Published with the buyer’s premium included; we remove the premium to get the hammer price. premium removed · 9,724 basis not stated · 157 Christie's7,190 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 1998–2022 · 1,460 products Published with the buyer’s premium included; we remove the premium to get the hammer price. Special Auction Services5,043 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 2012–2026 · 2,267 products Hammer price: what the lot sold for, without the buyer’s premium. Bonhams897 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 2003–2017 · 370 products Hammer price: what the lot sold for, without the buyer’s premium. Tamarkin Rare Camera Auctions625 sales Auction house · United States · 2013–2026 · 217 products Hammer price: what the lot sold for, without the buyer’s premium. Harper Field599 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 2015–2026 · 391 products Hammer price: what the lot sold for, without the buyer’s premium. Chiswick Auctions577 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 2024–2026 · 355 products Published with the buyer’s premium included; we remove the premium to get the hammer price. David Duggleby248 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 2020–2025 · 200 products Hammer price: what the lot sold for, without the buyer’s premium. Tennants194 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 2024–2026 · 116 products Hammer price: what the lot sold for, without the buyer’s premium. Cullens of Surrey73 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · 2021–2025 · 60 products The house does not say whether the price includes the premium; recorded as published. basis not stated · 64 hammer · 9 London Camera & Antique Auction5 sales Auction house · United Kingdom · Nov 2025 · 5 products The house does not say whether the price includes the premium; recorded as published.

Reference books

Quoted as a guide on the pages they cover — never as a sale, and never in a price.

How the prices are made comparable

Auction houses publish either the hammer price or the price with the buyer’s premium added; we take the premium out so every auction figure is a hammer price. eBay prices are as sold, without postage. Every sale keeps its original price and currency on its own row.

How we price, clause by clause →